Monday, November 19, 2012

Guest Post: Paulette Muhurin


Tolerance: Why Does It Even Matter

By, Paulette Mahurin

Author of

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

 

 
 
 
First let me give a big heartfelt thank you to the great blog site, Reviews That Bite, for hosting me for this interview. I’m so happy to be here.

Since the subject matter of my book is intolerance, bullying another for their nature, I thought it’d be a good thing to take a look at what tolerance is. I know that I can always go deeper, look deeper, on that subject, for I often see things arise in me that are definitely intolerant, if I am to be very honest with you here.
 
I see the way someone dresses or acts and I think to myself, how could you do that? Or wear that? Or be that? Be that? Are you kidding me! If someone judges me, or worse tries to change something about me, unless it’s constructive toward relationship building and my betterment coming from someone who loves and knows me (but come on it is usually someone judging and wanting to change me, for the most part), if someone does that to me, I’m up in arms. Yet, when I do it, it feels right. I feel, and believe, I’m right. Boy do I have a strong ego; it creates reality out of thin air, instead of simply accepting what is.

What I’m trying to say is, I’m human. We all are and we all do this. We judge yet come out with ridiculous statements like, I don’t judge, I’m not judgmental, then we spew out, okay I spew out, things that are so judgmental and when I’m called on it, I defend why I’m not doing it. In writing this book, I saw a lot of this in myself, especially while writing about Josie, the hate filled rumor mongering bitch, who can’t keep her mouth shut, and what comes out of it is ignorant babble. I also see myself in Gus, the voice of tolerance and wisdom, I see how I want to open more, be more accepting,  love more, and I also see how that is selfish because in opening I feel better, more alive.

When I started researching my book, the inspiration for the driving force of the story line, Oscar Wilde’s imprisonment, was always near at heart. He was my reminder, my metaphor, of the injustice of intolerance, all housed in beliefs, in laws, in narrow mindedness, all with roots of hatred for what is, another’s nature, that can no more change than a dog can not wag its tail. If we are to believe that God created all under the heavens and sun, then how could it be that there are creations that just aren’t right, not okay, less than human? Seems to me, this has to stem from some culturally based false belief, that gets passed down lifetimes after lifetimes, so by the time I’m into that belief, it feels real to me. Reality is created by thoughts, beliefs, and world viewpoints. If I think that guy likes me and fantasize over how I know he wants me, a reality is created inside of me. The brain doesn’t really know the difference between a thought and what’s actually happening, it secretes its chemicals, creating emotions, and man that is real. I believe I’m being rejected and it feels bad. That’s real and I’m feeling it.

If I believed Oscar Wilde was evil, or wrong, or acting illegally because he was a Gay man, then my mind is going to work it out to make it seems so. But what about what is accurate? Who among us would want to be prevented from loving? From intimacy, from the one we love? No one. It’s one of the most basic human needs from time and memorial, right along with our need to eat, drink, breathe, and if we had a switch or choice why would be chose devastation, humiliation, labeling that puts one in jail and kills? This has been the debate over sexual preference for decades, is it nature or nurture? The abundant view is nature. And, with this I agree. I agree and feel that Oscar Wilde did what came naturally, and in doing so, acting through what he could no more prevent than can a leaf from taking in carbon dioxide to survive, an ice cube melting in the sun, a fire’s warmth, all things of nature, and so what’s left is my fundamental question, can I tolerate it? Can I accept what is, see my insides resisting and wanting to change it, and breathe in a new possibility, that it is different, and I’m okay with different, because different is not bad, it’s just different. After all, aren’t we all different?

AMAZON.COM:
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=The+persecution+of+mildred+Dunlap

AMAZON U.K.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=the+persecution+of+mildred+dunlap

GOODREADS:
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14061559-the-persecution-of-mildred-dunlap

SHELFARI:
http://www.shelfari.com/books/28821838/The-Persecution-of-Mildred-Dunlap

FACEBOOK:
https://www.facebook.com/ThePersecutionOfMildredDunlap

BOOK'S BLOG:
http://thepersecutionofmildreddunlap.wordpress.com/

TWITTER:
https://twitter.com/MahurinPaulette


BOOK'S WEBSITE:
http://bookpromogroup2.weebly.com/paulette-mahurin.html

PRESS ARTICLE:
VC STAR Sept. 9, 2012 Sunday Life Section:
http://www.vcstar.com/news/2012/sep/08/ojai-authors-historical-novel-teaches-tolerance/

GOOGLE PROFILE PAGE:
https://plus.google.com/100183915878557337061/posts
SHELTER ALL PROFITS ARE GOING TO:
http://www.santapaulaarc.org/
To all my followers,

Sorry it has been a while since I last posted.  I just recently moved and my new home has yet to have internet.  I will hopefully be getting it soon.  Please bare with me during this transition. 

Thank you,
Jessica

Monday, October 29, 2012

Forbidden Forest Review

 
Born in shame. Cast from society. Shape Shifter/Elf hybrid, Forest must fight for any respect she can get. Targeted in her youth by a vampire noble who placed an illegal slave mark on her, she is forced to obey him, no matter what.
Slipping the grip of her master and abandoning the prejudice of Regia, her native world, Forest takes a job on Earth, guarding the portal, using her skills as a warrior to enforce Regia's laws. Now, called home for a black ops mission, Forest must put aside her own prejudice to transport the vampire prince, Syrus, through enemy territory in a time of war.
Prince Syrus, mage and master of the Blood Kata, wants Forest more than he's ever wanted anything. In spite of their mutual mistrust, their attraction cannot be denied. Through the danger of their mission, and the secrets they both keep, it doesn't matter what they feel. Forest is forbidden.
 
 
     I received a copy of this book from the author for an honest review.
     I cannot say how much I loved this book! When I got to the ending all I could think was "No I don't want it to end!" I was so happy to read a New Adult book. Not that I don't enjoy others I just find NA to be a little refreshing since I am not a teen anymore.
     Forbidden Forest reeled me in right away and left me wanting for more and also reminded me why I wait to read a series until the series is completed or almost completed. I HAVE to know what happens next. It's going to drive me crazy until I do.
     Tenaya did a wonderful job bringing the book to life and grabbing you along for the ride. I felt like I was Alice falling down the rabbit hole into the world of Regia. She did such a great job describing everything and it made it so easy to picture this new world.
     The only thing slightly down I have to say about Forbidden Forest was at times I got a little confused when we would switch to a new point of view.  We mainly see through the eyes of Forest and Syrus but at times it would flip to another character in the book.  Though they were very brief it made me feel like I was stumbling along a smooth path.  I wanted to rush through that and find out what was happening next with the main characters. However, you do need to read the others so as to get an idea about what all is going on in Regia.
    
     I give this book a 16+ rating.  Just for sexual situations and mature themes. 

Interview with Tenaya Jayne:
 

 
ME:  Hello and welcome to Reviews That Bite Tenaya.
TENAYA:  Thank you for the opportunity.
 
ME:  Who was your favorite character in Forbidden Forest?
TENAYA:  Well naturally, Forest is my favorite, but I have a strong attachment to Shi. I feel like she is a shared creation between me and my best friend, who suggested I add dryads to my world. After some consideration, I decided the dryads would be a part of the history, but they would be extinct. So bam, dryad ghost. I like to make sure I have at least one element that is unusual or unique to anything I write. 
 
ME:  Do you have any other books that we all can read while we wait for the next in the Legends of Regia series?
TENAYA:  I have two other titles available on Amazon. Blue Aspen, my first novel. And The Slayer's Wife is a paranormal novella.
 
 ME:  Could you tell us when the sequel will be coming out?  Are you willing to let us know a little bit about what it is about?
TENAYA:  The sequel, Forest Fire, will be out in the spring/summer of 2013. In that book, Forest must overcome some serious problems keeping her from Syrus and from becoming who she really wants to be. If you were reading the back of the book, it might say, The portals will break, the kingdom will fall, will Forest become queen of them all?
 
 ME:  Do you have any critiquing partners or beta readers that look at you books before they come out?
TENAYA:  Sure. I have one beta reader whose opinion I trust completely when it comes to books. And my writers group is a terrific bunch of authors. Then I have my editor, who is fantastic and patient.  
 
ME:  What do you think makes a good book?
TENAYA:  It's simple and yet not always easy to find: good writing and a good story. Many books have one or the other, but when they go together, you've got a good book. For like to turn to love for me, the story has to surprise me and the author has to mesmerize me with their words.
 
ME: What book or books are you reading now?
TENAYA:  I just finished Vows of Revenge by J F Ridgley. It was fantastic!
 
ME:  Do you have any suggestions for new writers?
TENAYA:  Master the language first. Then nothing will stand in the way of your imagination. Read great authors and emulate. 
 
ME:  Where can my readers find more information about you or your books?
ME:  Thank you Tenaya for doing this interview.
TENAYA:  Thank you!
 
ME:  And for my readers please check out her youtube video of Forbidden Forest at

 
 

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Halloween Blog Hop

Paranormal Wastelands
This was written by Scary Freak on http://www.halloween-website.com/scary_stories.htm  I remember hearing about the legend as a kid.

One night, these kids were coming home from a party and there was a cemetery about one block away from home. One kid was telling the others about a local legend. If you go and stand on the grave for ten seconds and stab a knife into it, a hand will grab you and pull you into the grave with the corpse. One girl was brave enough to do it for $20.00. She got a knife, walked to a grave, stood on it, and stabbed the knife into it. Suddenly, her leg felt heavy and she tried to pick it up, but something was grabbing HER! She was yelling and crying for help, but her friends thought she was kidding, so they just left. The next day, they found out that she had died, of fright. She thought that somebody was grabbing her, but the knife she was using had pierced her pants and held her there.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Keeper of the Lesser Flame Review

The water deity curse affects Heather's standard of living, hopes and expectation.
But laying down her soul as a propitiatory to a witch turns around her situation, mortgaging the future.
 

     I received this book for reviewing from the author.  It in no way affected my review.  I wanted so much to give this book a high rating.  It is the authors first novel and in some ways it was very obvious. 
     I liked the idea of the book and in many respects it wasn't a bad book.  Keeper of the Lesser Flame has a really good storyline.  I have read many books and none had a feeling like this one.  It was like a thriller book with a happy ending.
     Unfortunately it was very flawed.  From editing and time jumps it is very obvious this is Damilola's first book.  I personally don't mind editing errors (though I do notice them) but I do mind time jumps without any way they got to the point that they are at.  For example *spoiler* Heather suddenly got married and had two kids when the last thing before that she didn't want anything to do with the guy.*spoiler end*
     I needed more visualization for me to enjoy the book more but even with the lower review I didn't hate it.  I give this book an Adult rating for strong sex scenes.

Saturday, October 20, 2012

Scarecrow Vampire Teeth Giveaway Pt. 2

The giveaway for the Scarecrow fangs has officially ended.  The winner Teri Rivera was chosen by Random.org.  Congradulations Teri!

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Rogue Hunter: Inquest (ARC) Review

 
Fearing retribution from ruthless gangsters over an unsettled debt, intergalactic bounty hunter Zyra Zanr ventures to a distant world to collect the reward for Boris Skringler, a notorious terrorist, who has been sentenced to death by political rivals of the InterGalactic Alliance. When she fails to secure his release, she decides to break him out of prison. Zyra soon finds herself an unwilling participant in events that lead to a climactic showdown between the most powerful worlds in the galaxy.
Torn between her desperation to rid herself of the threats to her life and her guilt in agitating the conflict between two galactic superpowers, Zyra is horrified to learn that the lives of an entire world of people hinge on her ability to return Skringler to his captors. However, her distrust of Skringler gives way to lust, unraveling her plans. Will Zyra give into her passion and allow Skringler to go free? Or will she surrender him to her enemies to stop an impending war? The fate of billions depend on whether she chooses life for a killer or the death of her lover.


     I was given an ARC of Rogue Hunter: Inquest from the author to review this book.  It in no way alters my review of it.
     I gave this book 4 stars because of a slow start.  My biggest thing I want when reading a book is being enthralled right away.  Though it made me curious enough to continue on it didn't really get me until about half way through.  After that point I found myself staying up late just to read a little bit more to find out what was going to happen.
     Having never read any of the other Rogue Hunter series I was afraid that I wouldn't be able to understand what was going on.  That wasn't the case at all.  Infact, the author has redone the series, so this group is actually seperate from anyothers you may see out there. 
     There was enough back story in Inquest to help the me and any reader understand a little bit about Zyra's past with the people in her life.  That being said, the scenes didn't jump around too much and it the book was pretty easy to follow.  Kevis also did an amazing job at bringing the world to life with visualization and person to person connection.  I felt like I was right there following along with Zyra.
     Though the synopsis states that there is a lust between her and Skringler (when I first started to read the moments between them I even kind of rooted for that fact because I love to read about bad boys) it is not as strong as it would appear.  The fact is Zyra is in love with a woman named Mikaela who lives on an all women planet.  So with that there is some woman to woman moments.
    There was really no swearing and the intimate scenes were not too descriptive but they were enough for me to state my age range as 16+.  I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read what happens next.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Dark Moon Review

 Set in the romantic city of Cape Town, Storm tries to force a proposal from Trevor, and instead, she meets Jarred. Trevor has been preparing himself for what he plans for Storm, which is not quite what she expects. When she tells Trevor that she is carrying Jarreds baby, she releases true evil in Trevor. Storm, feeling that he ruined her life, refuses to have anything to do with Jarred, but he pursues her relentlessly. Donna, Storms roommate, bears the brunt of Trevors anger. Elle, Trevors sister, a fact unknown to them, makes it her mission to catch Trevor and bring him to justice, but he draws power from her for his evil purposes. Their mother senses what Trevor is doing and she uses her considerable knowledge and experience as a witch to curtail him. For a while it works, but he soon gathers his power, which he uses to his unfair advantage on Storm. Would Sybil and her helpers get through to Storm before she makes the mistake of her life.
 
 
     I wanted to first say I recieved this book from via the author. It in no way changes my review. My review is my sole opinion and we all have different ones.  
      I gave Dark Moon 4 stars because it started off very confusing to me. Though it did capture me with the very first chapter, there were so many different point of views that it was hard to follow for awhile. I prefer books with no more than 3 different views because I don't always have the time to sit down and read a lot. I only have time to read it in short breaks, and returning to a book where different people are speaking, it's hard to remember who's who and what just happened to each individual person.
      The storyline itself was very intriguing. We find out who the killer is almost right away but you still want to read to find out what is going to happen. I thought the way Storm treats Jarred wasn't very fair and wanted to smack her because of that. Other than that, I hated putting my computer down because I wanted to know what happened next, especially between the 2 of them.
I give this book an Adult rating. Not for sex; there aren't any explicit scenes but there is one where Storm and Jarred are kissing and she's in a towel and the towel falls. It explains somethings in detail there but it doesn't continue much further. This book also contains mature themes and violence. So I recommend you keep it from the kids.
     I only put this next part in because I try to write my reviews in such a way that readers can get a feel if they want to read the book, personally I didn't care too much. There are a few editorial issues. I pointed them out to the author. Almost all books have a small grammer or spelling issue here or there but these ones were pretty obvious. If you don't like to see editorial issues wait a little for the author to fix them (this was written 10/12) and then get this book!

Interview with Maggie Tideswell:

 
ME:  Hi Maggie and Welcome to Reviews That Bite.
MAGGIE:  Hi and Thank you.
 
ME:  So I finished reading Dark Moon and liked it quite a bit but was wondering, why did Trevor bite his victims?
MAGGIE:  The bite was Trevor’s ‘calling card’ along with the imprint ‘Servant’ from whatever he was strangling his victims with. Biting his victim gave him a sense of absolute power and control.

ME:  Since I have begun reviewing I started to really notice everyone has different opinions on what they enjoy in reading and what makes a good book.  What I like and makes a good book isn't necessarily what others will.  It made me wonder what do you think makes a good book?
MAGGIE:  For me, a book must be fast-paced or my attention starts to wander. The characters and dialogue must be realistic and believable and there has to be growth to a spectacular ending. I am not a fan of fantasy, sci-fi or anything set in the future, so for me a book has to be set in the real world, in real time.
 
ME:  Do you have another book coming out?  Are you willing to let us know a little bit about what it is about?
MAGGIE:  Yes, my second book, Moragh, Holly’s Ghost, will be out in 2013. It is a paranormal romance, set in the Cape region. Holly has a problem with her ex-husband over her visitation rights and her roommates advertise for a husband for her. From the moment Holly agrees to marry Joshua, a man she has never met, Moragh enters her life with the demand that her story be told. After the wedding, Holly meets the people from Joshua’s world, his mother and ex-fiancĂ©e, neither of whom are kindly disposed towards the bride. The ghost also follows Holly to her new home and Holly’s life is threatened by somebody who wants to keep the past a sectret.
 
ME:  Do you have any critiquing partners or beta readers that look at you books before they come out?
MAGGIE:I have about 5 beta readers who read my books and their function is not to edit, but to test the story line. They have to look out for mistakes, contradictions, and anything in the actual story that doesn’t work or isn’t clear. Any author needs fresh eyes to read one’s work before it is published, when there is still time to fix things. An author is too close to his or her work.
 
ME:  I like my readers to get to know a little bit about the authors I review.  Can you tell us a little bit about your family?
MAGGIE:  I have been married to Gareth for 33 years and we have 3 kids. Muriel is the eldest, married and lives with her husband in Durban. Cole is a paramedic and a bachelor and Evan, our youngest lives with his wife and little son in Mbombella, Mpumalanga. Gareth is a chef, though I do the cooking at home. We have lived all over the northern part of South Africa and have now settled in Johannesburg, Gauteng. I am not fond of the big city and prefer the country where the pace of life is a bit more sedate.

ME:  As a child what did you want to be when you grew up?
MAGGIE:  I knew from a very young age that I was going to be a writer, but as a teenager, I ran through the normal aspirations – nurse, teacher. I knew I would be a wife and mother too. As it was, I landed in catering quite by accident. Hospitality teaches one the foibles of human nature and how to deal with it. But always there was writing, creating characters and situations.
 
ME:  And do you have any suggestions for new writers?
MAGGIE:  Yes, there is only one piece of advice I would like to give new writers and that is never give up. Being an author is tough and there will be many rejections along the way and criticisms you might feel is unfair. Remember, it isn’t personal, learn the lesson from it and move on.
 
ME:  Once again thank you for joining us today.
MAGGIE:  My pleasure.
 
ME:  Please check out Maggie Tideswell's Website:  http://maggietideswell.weebly.com and her Dark Moon Trailer:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvFqnD20-IE 


  
 


Friday, October 5, 2012

Scarecrow Vampire Teeth Giveaway!



So I've been trying to think of a giveaway for Halloween, because what other day can you have so much fun with? :) Finally, I decided on giving away a pair of Scarecrow fangs! 
I myself have a pair of these and love them!
They come with a kit so you can custom fit them to your teeth!
 I will be doing a drawing on the 19th for the winner.
To be entered is easy.  
If you like my facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/J-Ann-Novels/472457432774684 page that is one entry, for every person you send that likes my page and tells me you sent them is another, each blog you follow is adds another, and if you comment on either blog that is also an entry.
So lots of ways to enter you name a ton of times. Good luck!

Thursday, October 4, 2012

The Last Witch


For generations the Incenaga Witches have been forced to use their power to fulfill the wishes of others until they are drained of their magic and left to die. Desperate to protect his infant daughter - the last surviving witch - Emmeline’s father escapes with her to the forests where he vows to keep her hidden from the world and from the truth.

Sixteen years later, Emmeline is discovered and finds herself in the grip of a traitor who will stop at nothing to get what he wants, even if it means abusing her power until she dies. As she fights to regain her freedom she is faced with a choice between a prince who offers a lifetime of security and a common gamekeeper who has no idea of her power, but offers his heart.

But who can she trust when her power can be used against her?
 
 
     First I got a want to mention I got a copy of this book from the author herself.  It in no way altered my feelings for this book (which are of my own opinion).  I am grateful for the opportunity I had to read it.  Now, on to the review.
     I can't say I loved this book but I didn't hate it either.  Half of the time I was found myself wanting to scream at Emmaline for this or that.  The other half I enjoyed.  This book starts off great.  You get drawn in from the very first page.  The author's attention to detail was amazing.  And the ending was just as good.  Then there was the middle half of the book.
     I had to force myself to read it.  I felt like I was reading the same thing over and over again.  Once I even felt like throwing my computer across the room because I had become frustrated with the montony.  Finally, I pushed threw it until the end.  I was glad I did.
     I give this book a PG-13 rating because of some pretty graphic violence.  There wasn't much of it but it was enough that I wouldn't suggest this to any kid under a teen.  All in all the book left me excited to find out what happens next.

Monday, October 1, 2012

Food for a Hungry Ghost Review

 
Life was pleasantly normal for Gala Rhyce—that is, until her mom moved the family to Flagler Beach, Florida. Now—despite the palm trees, ocean breezes, and cute surfer guys—Gala is miserable…until she meets Trista. Trista makes a great friend, except for one thing: she's a ghost.

The girls learn to communicate, and through Gala, Trista finds a way to experience the world again. As Gala’s romance with a heartthrob poet begins to bloom, her unlikely friendship with Trista continues—until the ghost wants more than Gala can give, and things start to go horribly wrong.

Filled with horror, romance, and humor, Food for a Hungry Ghost is about friendship, trust, jealousy, and boundaries that get pushed too far.

How much can Gala endure? Will she survive the clutches of the Hungry Ghost?    
  
    
     First I want to make note that the author, Becky M Pourchot, sent me a copy of this book to review.  Second, I loved this book.  I felt like I was right there watching everything happen.  I even got a little spooked when the ghost started to make herself known. 
     I have read a few books about ghosts and this one was like none I have read before.  It had enough twists in it that it kept me guessing until the very end.  Then when it ended I was left wanting more.  I can't wait until the next one comes out. 
    The only thing negative for me was there were no chapters.  I lost my place briefly and had to read a bunch of pages to figure out where I had left. 
     If you are looking for a ghost story that will both thrill and chill you, Food for a Hungry Ghost is it.  I rate it PG.  She wrote it for 10 and up and I believe she did a great job also making it a fun read for adults.
 
The Author is having a "Dinner with the Dead" at Flagler Beach, FL on October 23.  In preparation for this event she is giving away copies of "Food for a Hungry Ghost" on her website http://www.hungryghostbooks.com/ between Saturday October 27 and Wednesday October 31.  Check out her website!

Friday, September 28, 2012

A Bite's Tale Review

A Cinderella who spends her nights as a wolf. A prince with a taste for blood.

Seventeen year old Cydney struggles against her werewolf nature, trying to keep everyone around her safe. No way will she risk exposing the beast at the prince’s ball, no matter how her two cousins try to persuade her. Even as she attempts to get on with her life, Cydney can’t forget the boy she loved three summers ago — or what she did to him after losing control.

Turned into a vampire to save his life, the prince refuses to live up to his royal duties. He just wants to find the girl he loved and lost...the werewolf girl who bit him. But his father, the king, commands him to attend a ball where he must choose a wife. Can he find his Cinderella before he's forced to marry another? He doesn’t even have her real name, much less a glass slipper
 
.
     When I read the synopsis of the book I was eager to read it. I have always been a fan of the Cinderella story add a paranormal twist and what could go wrong? It wasn't a grip me by the edge of my seat/unable to put it down kind of book. However, the story was cute and innocent. I would give it a PG+ rating. The plus is because they briefly mention french kissing, but it's nothing too in depth that I wouldn't suggest a younger teen reading it.
       It would have been nice if the author had gone into a little more detail about the different kinds of paranormal creatures around. Like for example her cousin, what happened with that. So, unfortunately what you read in the synopsis was what happened in the book. If felt like there was no mystery until the end but even before we got to the ball we knew what was going to happen. Then bing bang it was done. It left me feeling like "That was it?" and then the book was over.
       I didn't hate it but I didn't love it either. If you are looking for a simple book or you are looking for something for a teen then this is the book for you. If you are looking for something that will keep you up at night reading it until you find out what happens then this isn't that book.